My Disappointment with Glenn Beck

First, understand that I’m a big fan of Glenn Beck, but the ‘glow’ is tarnishing a bit.
It’s not with what he believes (except for some of his religious stuff) or his political views,
but rather with some of his business practices.

I used to clear my schedule to watch his Fox TV program.  Then he left Fox and turned his TV program into subscription-based viewing.  He left me behind … and, I’ll wager, he left 2/3 of his viewing audience behind along with me.  This hurts his sphere-of-influence.  Not only are there fewer overall viewers, but how many liberal Democrats are going to pay fifty-bucks-a-year to watch his program??  So, Glenn now makes fewer converts to conservatism….but, not-to-worry.   His wallet is well padded!

I wanted to watch the final presidential debate tonight (10/22/12) and hear the behind-the-scenes analysis, so I paid the $49.95 to become an insider, or whatever Glenn calls us.  When I clicked on the link to watch it, I got this pop-up message:

“Our records show that your TheBlaze TV subscription level does not grant you access to the video you’ve selected.

“Click HERE to upgrade your account to TheBlaze TV Plus so you can watch this program and have access to all the exclusive content on TheBlazeTV.com including the video broadcast of Glenn’s Radio Program, documentaries, and other programming blocks and specials.”

So I “clicked here” and got THIS screen:

TheBlaze TV Subscription
You are currently subscribed to TheBlaze TV annual (autorenews at $49.95/year)
Your next billing period begins on Oct 22, 2013
Your current billing period price is $49.95

Upgrade to TheBlaze TV Plus
TheBlaze TV Plus provides additional content including Video Broadcast of Glenn’s Radio Program, Exclusive Documentaries and More Great Features.

Billing Information
Your subscription is currently being billed to ***********3003
Credit card update: Please click here to update your information so future billings are applied to a different card.

Account Status
Click here to cancel your subscription.    (Don’t tempt me, Glenn!  Oh, will I get a refund??)

Note 2 things:

1. We’re not told HOW MUCH the upgrade costs, only that you have my credit card, and to ‘click here’ to get your upgrade (I hope it’s not another fifty bucks!), and

2. The $49.95 AUTORENEWS all on its own.  I’m not given the capitalistic choice of whether-or-not I want it to!

I’m shocked, Glenn!  I think you should check the membership card of whoever wrote this for you to see what his/her political beliefs are….

And, I’m sorry that you’re so struggling that you have to nickel-and-dime us to death.

I didn’t upgrade; just watched it on Fox TV.  (Sorry to impoverish you, Glenn….)

Bruce Hopkins
Quinlan, Texas
10/22/12

About foodstr2

[Real name] Bruce Hopkins [Current residence] Quinlan, Texas [Work history in chronological order] Grape Picker, Scullery Captain, Printer, Preacher, Restaurant Manager, Gas Station Attendant, Copier Service Technician, Satellite Systems Service Technician, Satellite Systems Service Manager, Customer Service Manager, Family Law Legal Forms Typist, Storable Foods Business Owner, Courier, Telephone Support Tech, Telephone Sales of UPSs. Wanna hire me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

